Adorable illustrations

The interwebs led me to Phillippa Rice’s illustrated depictions of life with her boyfriend – have a look, it is super cute : http://www.itsnicethat.com/articles/illustrator-philippa-rice

To me, it puts together all those little things in a relationship that makes it so sweet. Every pose they strike on the couch has been attempted by my husband and I…in fact that dance of figuring out the best weird puzzle piece position for our bodies to fit together (and eventually fall asleep together) on the couch, while watching a movie or show, is one of my favourite things about my marriage. He is the best snuggler, hands down!

It makes me want to have the talent to illustrate all the cute moments too. Since my only talent (somewhat ha!) are my words, I’ll jot down a little list for now:

– When husband is really tired and sleeps in on the weekends: I get up earlier than him, close the bedroom door and get around to making myself some tea and having me-time in our living room. Every. single. time. that I go check in on him an hour or two later, his head has mysteriously migrated to *my* pillow while his body remains on his side of the bead. And he is always positioned lying belly down, with his arms wrapped around my pillow. So cute! And when he’s sick, he always sleeps on my pillow saying “it’s the pillow that makes him feel better.” Melts my heart.

– Husband is my favourite person to eat food with. Granted we both think there are large areas we could be healthier eaters in, I love the mischievous looks we share when we are deciding what to order in. We actually giggle and make peanut-gallery comments/sounds as we suggest options: “how about that amazing pizzaiolo pizza you ordered last time!” *snicker snicker* “oooo or what about garlic shrimp from sukhothai??” “yummmm!” *eyes crossed* I have no idea how this tradition started but I’m pretty glad it exists 🙂

– On the days we work from home, whenever husband wants tea he will ask if he should make me a cup as well, tea + love equals double love

– I have really dry skin and since the mysteries of moisturising one’s back are beyond me, I get really itchy on my back as soon as I’m in bed… maybe it’s because I’m rolling around in sheets with my back right against the mattress. Husband senses when I’m getting fidgety and starts scratching my entire back – I throw in some goofy sound effects and funny dog-leg shakes when he’s at a good spot (he grew up with a dog who does this so he finds it hilarious) and I’m so thankful he will spend 5 minutes itching all my dry spots so that I can fall asleep more comfortable.

I’ll have to keep adding more to this post as I remember them!

photo (32)

One thought on “Adorable illustrations

  1. You guys are so sweet. I have loved watching your love for one another grow and am still so honored I was a part of your wedding day two years ago. Sending hugs your way always 🙂

    XOXO

a penny for your thoughts

